100_0681

This has been the most beautiful June. We’ve had days and days of blue skies, hot sun, and cool breezes – a delicious combination. Thanks to the rain earlier this month, everything is fresh, lush, and blooming.

I’ve been reveling in the abundance of light, in the early sunrises and long leisurely evenings. When I woke up at 3:45 a.m. the other day, the sky was already beginning to lighten.

Of course that was June 21st, the summer solstice.

It seems unfair that, just as summer officially begins, the light starts to recede. I could get down about that…in fact I sort of have.

I can’t help remembering how forbidding it felt last December, walking out of the new shop at 4:30 or 5:00 into pitch darkness. Once we passed the winter solstice, I was acutely aware with each passing day of the return of the light. I inwardly celebrated the first time the western sky glowed pinkish as I was locking up, and the first time the sun was visible on the horizon.

But now we’re heading in the other direction.

A friend said to me about this, “so you’re a ‘the glass is half empty’ kind of person.” Yes, it seems ridiculous to spend even an instant feeling bad about losing something you love when the thing is fully here and wonderful now.

Still, I think it’s human to respond to these cycles. For our early ancestors, the shortening days could only be bad news. It’s also human to want to hang onto good things, even though it’s impossible.