Ever notice how the books you choose to read can be a mirror of how you’re feeling about your life at the moment? Often they reflect what you’re yearning for, struggling with, or deeply engaged in.

It’s like that for me. When life feels like a hard slog, I’m often attracted to gritty, realistic tales of adversity. I’m looking for a message that says, yes, life is hard, but redemption is possible. At other times, the last thing I want to do is to immerse myself in someone else’s problems. So I reach for fantasy, cozy mysteries, chick lit. Sometimes I just want to fly away from it all, and I gravitate towards travel books.

Last week, while killing time in Barnes and Noble, I decided to use up a gift card I’d been carrying around. I also had in my purse a little notebook that was full of random reminders to myself, including names of books that had piqued my interest based on reviews or recommendations. Turns out most of these books were in stock, even the older ones.

When I unpacked my bag, here’s what I saw:

Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer  – (a nonfiction book written in the 90s about a young man who disappeared into the wilds of Alaska)

Wild – From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed(current best-selling memoir about a woman who finds healing through solo hiking)

Last Child in the Woods – Saving our Children from Nature Deficit Disorder by Richard Louv

Whoa! So who’s the one with the nature deficit disorder? It’s been such a busy summer that I’ve barely been outside, haven’t gardened, and have only made it to the beach once. Clearly, I’m hungry for nature…even if only between the pages of a book.

Last night we went to see Beasts of the Southern Wild, a movie that celebrates the connection its characters have with the natural world. On the way home we stopped for ice cream cones and watched the full moon rise over the trees. I wanted to throw back my head and howl. Guess it’s time to get outside.