Today is the first day of spring.

It’s good to go outside, shut your eyes, and just listen for a while. The songs of the spring peepers and the birds tell you that something big is going on.

Reminds me of a day last spring. I’d been cooped up in my office too long, hunched over the computer, when through the window came the most beautiful birdsong I’d ever heard. Four liquid notes, so pure and exquisite that I just had to stop and listen. What was this magical bird?

A short time later, I walked out of the building and saw a guy in a brown uniform walking around the foundation holding a device that looked sort of like a metal detector. From this machine came that same four note melody. He was doing a termite inspection, and the notes indicated moisture levels or something.

So…was the melody still beautiful?