I love the week between Christmas and New Years. The holiday festivities are over, and the soap business is more or less closed for the week. It’s arguably the only “time off” I have all year, when I’m at home with absolutely nothing I have to do.

Ideally, it’s a week for reading, walking, and writing. For day-dreaming and creative musing, for looking through photos taken during the past year. Maybe for catching up by phone or letter with friends who live far away, or for meeting local friends for tea. But no groups or big meals. After weeks of jollity and overeating, it’s best to keep things very simple.

It’s a week for discovering how tired I am, and allowing myself to sleep in. For going to the movies on a weekday night. For avoiding all forms of shopping.

A little deck-clearing can feel good…I finally decluttered and vacuumed my bedroom, not because I had to, but because I finally had time to do it. I may clear away some of the Christmas stuff. I may set up the 2012 calendar. Or maybe not. The key is: nothing is mandatory this week.

I know not everyone has the week between Christmas and New Years off, which is too bad. We all deserve a week of nothing at least once a year.